Thinking about standing for local government?


Deciding to play a significant role in your local community by running for local government is a big decision. For more information on what you can expect, click here


Local Government Elections

The elections give residents and ratepayers the opportunity to vote for who they think will best represent their community as Mayor, Councillor and/or Community Board member. 

Local Government Elections are held every three years by postal voting, using the First-Past-the-Post (FPP) voting method.

Please visit the Electoral System page for more information on this voting method.

The most recent government elections were held on 8 October 2016.

Voters must be currently enrolled and 18 years or over to vote.

Candidate names are listed alphabetically on voting documents.

How to Enrol

Otorohanga District Residents

  • If you are an Otorohanga District resident and have enrolled on the parliamentary electoral roll for the general election, you are automatically enrolled to vote in the local government elections.
  • If you:
    • have not enrolled on the parliamentary electoral roll and would like to enrol,
    • would like to check if you're enrolled, or
    • would like to update your contact details,

           please visit the Electoral Commission website or phone 0800 36 76 56.

Non-resident ratepayers

If you pay rates on a property in a different district/ward/community to where you live, you may be eligible to enrol on the non-resident ratepayer electoral roll. 
A company or society paying land rates also qualifies as a ratepayer elector.

Special Voting

Your circumstances may permit you to cast a special vote.

For more information on special voting, please follow this link: Electoral Commission - Special Voting

Voting Returns

Once voting opens, information on daily-updated voting returns is available using this link: Electionz.com

This link shows return comparisons from previous elections leading back to 2007.