Review of Representation Arrangements for the 2019 Local Elections

On 26 June 2018 the Otorohanga District Council reviewed its representation arrangements, and resolved that the following proposal apply for the Council and its community boards for the elections to be held on 12 October 2019.

Council Representation

The Council will comprise seven (7) members elected from five wards, and the Mayor.

The names of the wards and the number of members to be elected by the Electors of each ward are:

Ward                                      Members

Kawhia / Tihiroa Ward          2

Kiokio / Korakonui Ward      1 

Otorohanga Ward                  2

Waipa Ward                           1

Wharepuhunga Ward             1

Community Board Representation

It is proposed that two community boards will be elected.  The two community boards will be:

Community Board                                  Members

Kawhia Community Board                       Four elected Members and one appointed Member.       

Otorohanga Community Board                Four elected Members and two appointed Members.

The Kawhia Community Board will be subdivided for electoral purposes.  The two subdivisions reflect the following communities of interest:

Subdivision                            Members

Aotea                                      1

Kawhia                                   3


Submissions on the proposal were invited. As no submissions were received in respect of the proposal it became the basis of election for the Otorohanga District Council for the elections to be held on 12 October 2019.

Any queries regarding the Council’s decision should be directed to the Council’s Corporate Services Manager Graham Bunn on 07 873 4374