Restricted Fire Season

Restricted Fire Season




Pursuant to the powers vested in Councils under the Forest and Rural Fires Act 1977, notice is hereby given that lighting of fire in the open air is restricted over all of the Otorohanga and Waitomo District Council areas, including all communities, as from 12.01am on 11 January 2016 to 11.59pm on 31 March 2016, or until notified otherwise by public notice.

All fires in the open air are required to have a permit issued by an authorised Rural Fire Officer, except for those activities noted below:

  • BBQ’s lit in properly constructed containers and fuelled with gas, solid or liquid fuel;
  • Traditional cooking fires within a pit or confined area and where not less than three metres of ground surrounding the fire is cleared of grass and all combustible material.

Any fire within one kilometre of Department of Conservation administered land requires a permit from the Department of Conservation.

Section 23 of the Act states that it is an offence to set on fire, to assist in the setting on fire, to cause or permit to be set on fire, to aid, abet or assist in setting on fire in the open air, any vegetation or any other combustible material whatsoever, during a restricted fire season except pursuant to an authority or permit from a Fire Officer for the Rural Fire District.

It shall be no legal defence against claims for damage caused by any fire, that such fire was of the type, or lit at the time permitted, by this notice.

Permit applications should be made to the Otorohanga District Council, phone (07) 873 4000 or the Waitomo District Council 07 878 0800 during the hours of 8am and 5pm Monday to Friday.  Permits should be applied for at least three days (72 hours) in advance of the planned fire to enable site inspections to be made by the Fire Officers.

Permits will not be issued between 23 December 2014 and 5 January 2016, after hours, during weekends and public holidays.

David Brown