Aotea By-Election 2021

Notice of By-election

The nomination period closed at 12pm on Tuesday 16 March 

Aotea By Election Results

Nomination of Candidates and Enrolment Arrangements


A by-election is required to fill an extraordinary vacancy for one member to represent the Aotea subdivision of the Kāwhia Community Board. The vacancy has arisen from the recent resignation of George Fletcher.


If you are thinking about running, please visit our page on thinking about standing for local government to find out more about what the job entails.

Nominations for the above position open on Tuesday 16 February 2021 and must be made on the official nomination form. Copies of the nomination form and a candidate guide can be requested from the Ōtorohanga District Council office, downloaded from the bottom of this page or from the electoral officer (see contact details below).

Completed nomination documents must be received by the electoral officer no later than noon on Tuesday 16 March 2021. Each nomination must be accompanied by a deposit of $200 incl GST, payable by EFTPOS, cash or online banking (see candidate guide for requirements).

Candidates are encouraged to also submit a candidate profile statement and recent colour photograph. The requirements for the profile statement and photo are set out in the candidate guide.

All nomination documents must be lodged together. Candidates should refer to the candidate guide for further details.

View nominations to date here 

Electoral Rolls

A preliminary roll for the by-election can be inspected during normal office hours at the Ōtorohanga District Council office, 17 Maniapoto Street, Ōtorohanga or the Ōtorohanga District Library, 27 Turongo Street, Ōtorohanga from Tuesday 16 February 2021 to Tuesday 16 March 2021.

Electors may enrol or amend their enrolment details on the residential electoral roll by:

  • Completing an enrolment form available at any PostShop or at the Ōtorohanga District Council office
  • Calling 0800 ENROL NOW (0800 36 76 56)
  • Visiting the Electoral Commission website (

Updates to the preliminary electoral roll close at 4pm on Tuesday 16 March 2021.

Applications for registration as a ratepayer elector are to be made on the non­resident ratepayer elector enrolment form available from the Ōtorohanga District Council office or from the council’s website and must be returned to the electoral officer before 4pm on Thursday 16 March 2021.


Non-resident ratepayers

If you pay rates on a property in the Aotea area but don’t live there, you may be eligible to enrol on the non-resident ratepayer electoral roll. 
A company or society paying land rates also qualifies as a ratepayer elector.

A copy of the ratepayer enrolment form can be downloaded here [PDF 87 KB] [PDF, 87 KB]. This form can either be scanned and emailed to [email protected] or sent via post to Ratepayer Elector Enrolments, PO Box 3138, Christchurch 8140.


Election Details

If an election is required to fill this vacancy, the election will be conducted by postal voting under the First Past the Post (FPP) electoral system. Candidate names will be listed in alphabetical order on the voting papers.



Warwick Lampp 

Electoral Officer

PO Box 3138, Christchurch 8140

[email protected]

0800 666 928